Monday, 21 April 2014

Frogmore poets read at Torriano Meeting House

More than twenty HappenStance poets recently read at a unique event at the Torriano Meeting House, Kentish Town, London. A packed house heard readings from numerous contributors to The Frogmore Papers, among them
  • Gill Andrews
  • Clare Best
  • Sally Festing
  • Eleanor Livingstone
  • Fiona Moore
  • Jeremy Page
  • D. A. Prince
  • Matthew Stewart
  • Marion Tracy
  • Gina Wilson
and HappenStance's presiding spirit Helena Nelson. Collectively the readings told the story of HappenStance from its debut publication (by Eleanor Livingstone) in 2005, concluding with a foretaste of D.A. Prince's new collection Common Ground, which will be published later this year.

Sunday, 20 April 2014

Frogmore poets launch new collections in Lewes, 30 April 2014

Save the date! On 30 April 2014, 7.30 pm in the Elephant & Castle, LewesFrogmore contributor Janet Sutherland and editor of the Frogmore Papers Jeremy Page will launch their new collections of poetry. All warmly invited. This is a free event, no need to book.

Link to the Facebook event HERE.
Address, map and directions to the Elephant & Castle HERE.

Saturday, 8 March 2014

Frogmore Poetry Prize 2014 - Deadline for submissions is 31 May

May 31, 2014 is the deadline for submission of poems for this year's Frogmore Poetry Prize.

Now in its 28th year, the Prize has been awarded annually since 1987. Previous winners include Tobias Hill, Mario Petrucci, Howard Wright and Sharon Black. Emily Wills won the Prize in both 2012 and 2013.

This year's adjudicator is Abegail Morley. The winner will receive the sum of two hundred and fifty guineas.
Full details at or see conditions below.

Conditions of Entry
  1. Poems must be in English, unpublished, and not accepted for future publication.
  2. Poems should be typed and no longer than forty lines.
  3. Any number of poems may be entered on payment of the appropriate fee of £3 per poem.   Cheques and postal orders should be made payable to The Frogmore Press
  4. The following methods of payment are acceptable: cheque drawn on UK bank; British postal order; sterling.  
  5. Each poem should be on a separate sheet, which should not include the name of the author.
  6. The author’s name and address should be provided on an accompanying sheet of paper.
  7. The winner, runners-up and shortlisted poets will be notified by post. All shortlisted poems will appear in number 84 of The Frogmore Papers (September 2014), which will be available at £5.00 from the address below, and on the Frogmore Press website.          
  8. To receive a copy of the results, please enclose an s.a.e. marked ‘Results’.
  9. Poems cannot be returned.
  10. Closing date for submissions: 31 May 2014.
  11. Copyright of all poems submitted will remain with the authors but the Frogmore Press reserves the right to publish all shortlisted poems.
  12. The adjudicator’s decision will be final and no correspondence can be entered into.
  13. Entries should be sent to: The Frogmore Press, 21 Mildmay Road, Lewes, East Sussex BN7 1PJ.
  14. The submission of poems for the Prize will be taken as indicating acceptance of the above conditions.

Tuesday, 4 March 2014

Frogmore Papers 83 is out

Number 83 of The Frogmore Papers (March 2014) is now available.
The issue contains poetry by William Bedford, Sasha Dugdale, Fiona Moore, Patricia Pogson, Eoghan Walls and others, prose by Rachel Cole, Athanasia Hughes and John O'Donoghue and artwork by Clare Johnson.
The striking cover is by Hythe-based artist Carol Lewis.

£5, post free, from
The Frogmore Press
21 Mildmay Road
Or from Sky Lark bookshop, The Needlemakers, Lewes.

Thursday, 2 January 2014

morphrog 8 - Poetry in the Extreme - goes live

The eighth edition of morphrog, a sister site of the Frogmore Press, is now live, with contributions from:

  • Michael Bartholomew-Biggs with David Walsh (artwork)
Image by David Walsh
  • Sharon Black
  • Clare Crossman
  • Robin Daglish
  • Michael Fraley
  • Charlotte Gann
  • Robin Houghton
  • Antony Johae
  • Robert Miles
  • Ottilie Mulzet
  • Martin Myers
  • Diana Reed
  • K V Skene
  • Michael Swan
  • Todd Swift

Saturday, 14 December 2013

Frogmore poet Brian Aldiss in The Guardian 14 December 2013

Today's Guardian Review (Saturday, 14 December 2013) features an interview with Frogmore poet and 'Grand Old Man of British science fiction' Brian Aldiss on the occasion of the publication of his entire backlist by Harper Collins's digital Friday Project.
Read the whole interview here.

Frogmore published his long poem A Plutonian Monologue as a signed limited edition in 2000. A few copies remain and are available from the Frogmore Press at £5 inclusive of postage and packing.

Contact, or send a cheque payable to The Frogmore Press to 21 Mildmay Road, Lewes, BN7 1PJ, U.K.

Friday, 15 November 2013

Clare Best readings in November

Frogmore poet and editor Clare Best will be reading at two events in London in the coming weeks:

On Thursday 21 November, at Art Workers Guild,  2-4 pm 
6 Queen Square, 
Bloomsbury, London WC1N 3AT

Adjudication event for the Second Light poetry competition, with Moniza Alvi. Clare will be reading 'Cell' which has won 1st prize in the long poem category.

On Monday 25 November, 6pm, at St George's, University of LondonClare will be presenting 'Self-portrait without Breasts' as per the link below. This is a free event.